Prayer

TODAY’S MARRIAGE PRAYER: Forgive Us for Losing Sight

 marriage

Dear Heavenly Father,

Like a multi-faceted diamond, so is the love that we share–so many gifts, and so many blessings waiting to be discovered. While one part shines, the others are shadowed.

It’s easy to elevate one aspect of our marriage. It’s tempting to idolize the best parts and to turn our back on those parts that are stressful, uncertain, and taxing.

Forgive us for losing sight, Lord. Help us to press through those dark days and to find the beauty within them.

Romance, money, employment, friendship, children, and a beautiful home are just some of the blessings of marriage. They’re wonderful in and of themselves, but if we start to worship those things or put them at the center of our marriage, we lose sight of the fullness and beauty of a multi-faceted covenant. More importantly, we lose sight of You.

Help us to look forward with hope, to dream with anticipation, to stop looking back, and to remember that the best is yet to come.

In the name of Jesus we pray. Amen.

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever. – Psalm 23:1-6

 

Get The book:

100 Prayers for Your Marriage: Draw Close to Each Other and Closer to God by Darlene Schacht

 photo LowResCover.png

Available now at Amazon.

(Source: Today’s Marriage Prayer)

May grace of Christ be with you,

signature_mjlluo9e3ke93x45ml

Leave a Reply

