CELEBRATE RECOVERY: LESSON ONE DENIAL

Image result for celebrate recovery

Do you have a Hurt, Hang-up or Habit?

  • Do you believe, or want to believe in God, yet can’t seem to?
  • Do you want to trust God with your whole life, yet live in fear?
  • If you are honest, do you know you are not happy?
  • Is serenity only an ideal; seldom experienced?
  • Do you find your personal life is troubled?
  • Are your relationships clouded by conflict and confusion?
  • Do you find people in your life can’t understand you?
  • Do others not love you as you feel you should be loved?
  • Do you have resentments, anger, fear or loneliness?
  • Do you have persistent feelings of low self worth, shame, guilt?
  • Do you have recurring pain about relationships and living in general?
  • Have you tried to change your behaviours without success?
  • Have you tried to change the behaviours of people around you?
  • Have your even called God in on the struggle to change those close to you or yourself without apparent result?
  • Do those whom you try to “help” not cooperate?
  • Do you feel angry or hurt, asking, ”Why do they resent me”?
  • Do you think, “They should just do what I say”?
  • Do you tell others, “I am only trying to help them”?
  • Have you realized that you can’t even fix your own pain?
  • Do your prayers for God’s help not relieve the pain?
  • Have you not told anyone of your secret pain?
  • Does life not respond to your manipulations?
  • Are you realizing you don’t have the needed power?
  • Are you lacking spiritual resources to overcome the pain?
  • Do you have a difficulty and want to change?

I came across Celebrate Recovery (CR) Bible and I decided to explore what was CR about and realised it is an unique recovery programme and extremely effective in helping people change. And I decided to run these lessons here. Every Friday I will be posting a lesson. Join us here.  If you like to join our  FB group, just buzz me.

Celebrate Recovery is a biblical and balanced program that helps us overcome our hurts, hang-ups, and habits.

The purpose of CELEBRATE RECOVERY is to celebrate God’s healing power in our lives through 8 recovery principles found in the Beatitudes. By working and applying these principles, we begin to grow spiritually and become willing to accept God’s grace in solving our problems. Change takes place as we share our experiences, hopes and strengths with each other. We gain freedom from our addictive, compulsive and dysfunctional behaviors. This freedom creates peace, joy, serenity and most importantly, a stronger personal relationship with God and others.

Free from the hurts of yesterday, the struggles of today, and the worries of tomorrow.

Eight Principles

R ealize I’m not God; I admit that I am powerless to control my tendency to do the wrong thing and that my life is unmanageable.

“Happy are those who know that they are spiritually poor.”

E arnestly believe that God exists, that I matter to Him and that He has the power to help me recover.

“Happy are those how mourn, for they shall be comforted.”

C onsciously choose to commit all my life and will to Christ’s care and control.

“Happy are the meek.”

O penly examine and confess my faults to myself, to God, and to someone I trust.

“Happy are the pure in heart.”

Voluntarily submit to any and all changes God wants to make in my life and humbly ask Him to remove my character defects.

“Happy are those whose greatest desire is to do what God requires”

E valuate all my relationships. Offer forgiveness to those who have hurt me and make amends for harm I’ve done to others when possible, except when to do so would harm them or others.

“Happy are the merciful.”  

“Happy are the peacemakers”

R eserve a time with God for self-examination, Bible reading, and prayer in order to know God and His will for my life and to gain the power to follow His will.

Y ield myself to God to be used to bring this Good News to others, both by my example and my words.

“Happy are those who are persecuted because they do what God requires.”

celebraterecoveryheader_new-960x250

Lesson 1 Denial

Denial

Think About It

Before we can take the first step of our recovery, we must first face and admit our denial.

God tells us, “You can’t heal a wound by saying it’s not there!” (Jeremiah 6:14). The acrostic for DENIAL spells out what can happen if we do not face our denial.

Disables our feelings

By repressing our feelings we freeze our emotions. Understanding and feeling our feelings is freedom.

“They promise them freedom, while they themselves are slaves of destructive habits—for a man is a slave of anything that has conquered him.” (2 Peter 2:19, GNB)

Energy lost

A side effect of our denial is anxiety. Anxiety causes us to waste precious energy running from our past and worrying about and dreading the future. It is only in the present, today, where positive change can occur.

“He frees the prisoners . . .; he lifts the burdens from those bent down beneath their loads.” (Psalm 146:7–8, TLB)

Negates growth

We are “as sick as our secrets.” We cannot grow in recovery until we are ready to step out of our denial into the truth.

“They cried to the Lord in their troubles, and he rescued them! He led them from their darkness and shadow of death and snapped their chains.” (Psalm 107:13–14, TLB)

Isolates us from God

God’s light shines on the truth. Our denial keeps us in the dark.

“God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. If we claim to have fellowship with him yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live by the truth. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.” (1 John 1:5–7)

Alienates us from our relationships

Denial tells us we are getting away with it. We think no one knows—but they do. What is the answer?

“Stop lying to each other; tell the truth, for we are parts of each other and when we lie to each other we are hurting ourselves.”(Ephesians 4:25, TLB)

Lengthens the pain

We have the false belief that denial protects us from our pain. In reality, denial allows our pain to fester and grow and turn into shame and guilt.

God’s promise: “I will give you back your health again and heal your wounds.” (Jeremiah 30:17, TLB)

Accept the first principle of recovery. Step out of your denial! Step into your Higher Power’s—Jesus Christ’s—unconditional love and grace!

Principle 1: Realize I’m not God. I admit that I am powerless to control my tendency to do the wrong thing and that my life is unmanageable.

“Happy are those who know they are spiritually poor.” (Matthew 5:3)

Step 1: We admitted we were powerless over our addictions and compulsive behaviors, that our lives had become unmanageable.

“I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.” (Romans 7:18)

Serenity Prayer

God, grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change,
the courage to change the things I can,
and the wisdom to know the difference.
Living one day at a time,
enjoying one moment at a time;
accepting hardship as a pathway to peace;
taking, as Jesus did, this sinful world as it is;
not as I would have it;
trusting that You will make all things right
if I surrender to Your will;
so that I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with You
forever in the next.

Amen

BREAK EVERY CHAIN, BREAK EVERY CHAIN

Image result for celebrate recovery

God bless!

3l8vgf8e2pga9jxok0br

3 thoughts on “CELEBRATE RECOVERY: LESSON ONE DENIAL

  1. Susan says:

    This looks good, Daisy! I answered ‘yes’ to too many of the initial questions! Looking forward to starting Judges on Monday, hope I can keep up with this as well. I hope things are getting better for you. God bless, Susan

    Like

  2. Susan Fisher says:

    Hi Daisy, this looks good! I answered ‘yes’ to too many of the initial questions! I am looking forward to starting Judges on Monday, hope I can keep up with this too. Hope things are going better for you. God bles, Susan

    Like

Leave a Reply

