Celebrate Recovery

CELEBRATE RECOVERY: LESSON TWO POWERLESS

Image result for celebrate recovery

Lesson 2 Powerless

Powerless

Think About It

When we accept the first recovery principle and take that first step out of our denial and into reality, we see there are very few things that we really have control over. Once we admit that by ourselves we are powerless we can stop living with the following “serenity robbers,” spelled out in the acrostic POWERLESS.

Pride

Ignorance + power + pride = a deadly mixture!

“Pride ends in a fall, while humility brings honor.”(Proverbs 29:23, TLB)

Only ifs

Our “only ifs” in life keep us trapped in the fantasy land of rationalization!

“Whatever is covered up will be uncovered, and every secret will be made known. So then, whatever you have said in the dark will be heard in broad daylight.” (Luke 12:2–3, GNB)

Worry

Worrying is a form of not trusting God enough!

“So don’t be anxious about tomorrow. God will take care of your tomorrow too. Live one day at a time.” (Matthew 6:34, TLB)

Escape

By living in denial we may have escaped into a world of fantasy and unrealistic expectations of ourselves and others.

“For light is capable of showing up everything for what it really is. It is even possible for light to turn the thing it shines upon into light also. “(Ephesians 5:13-14, PH)

Resentments

Resentments act like an emotional cancer if they are allowed to fester and grow.

“In you anger do not sin’: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold.” (Ephesians 4:26-27)

Loneliness

Loneliness is a choice. In recovery and in Christ, you never have to walk alone.

“Continue to love each other with true brotherly love. Don’t forget to be kind to strangers, for some who have done this have entertained angels without realizing it!” (Hebrews 13:1-2, TLB)

Emptiness

You know that empty feeling deep inside. The cold wind of hopelessness blows right through it.

Jesus said, “My purpose is to give life in all its fullness” (John 10:10, TLB)

Selfishness

We often pray: “Our Father which art in heaven; give me, give me, give me.”

“Whoever clings to his life shall lose it, and whoever loses his life shall save it.” (Luke 17:33, TLB )

Separation

Some people talk about finding God – as if He could ever get lost!

“For I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from his love. Death can’t, and life can’t. The angels won’t, and all the powers of hell itself cannot keep God’s love away…Nothing will ever be able to separate us from the love God demonstrated by our Lord Jesus Christ when he died for us. ” (Romans 8:38 – 39, TLB)

Congratulations! In you admission of your powerlessness you have begun the journey of recovery that will allow you to accept the true and only Higher Power’s – Jesus Christ’s – healing, love, and forgiveness. At this stage in your recovery, you need to stop doing two things.

1. Stop Denying the Pain

You are ready to take your first step in recovery when your pain is greater than your fear.

“Pity me, O Lord, for I am week. Heal me, for my body is sick, and I am upset and disturbed. My mind is filled with apprehension and with gloom.” (Psalm 6:2-3 TLB)

2. Stop Playing God

You are unable to do for yourself what you need God to do for you. You are either going to serve God or yourself. You can’t serve both.

“No one can be a slave to two masters; he will hate one and love the other; he will be loyal to one and despise the other.” (Matthew 6:24 GNB)

In addition to stopping certain behaviors, you need to start doing two things:

1. Start Admitting Your Powerlessness

As you work the first principle, you will see that by yourself you do not have the power to change your hurts, hang-ups, and habits.

“Jesus…said, ‘With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.’”(Matthew 19:26)

2. Start Admitting That Your Life Has Become Unmanageable

You can finally start admitting that some or all areas of your life are out of your control to change.

“Problems far too big for me to solve are piled higher than my head. Meanwhile my sins, too many to count, have all caught up with me and I am ashamed to look up.” (Psalm 40:12, TLB)

Principle 1: Realize I’m not God. I admit that I am powerless to control my tendency to do the wrong thing and that my life is unmanageable.

“Happy are those who know they are spiritually poor.” (Matthew 5:3)

Step 1: We admitted we were powerless over our addictions and compulsive behaviors, that our lives had become unmanageable.

“I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.” (Romans 7:18)

Principle 1 Prayer:

Dear God, Your Word tells me that I can’t heal my hurts, hang-ups, and habits by just saying that they are not there. Help me! Parts of my life, or all of my life, are out of control. I now know that I cannot “fix” myself. It seems the harder that I try to do the right thing the more I struggle. Lord, I want to step out of my denial into the truth. I pray for you to show me the way. In Your Son’s name I pray, Amen

Celebrate Recovery is a biblical and balanced program that helps us overcome our hurts, hang-ups, and habits.

The purpose of CELEBRATE RECOVERY is to celebrate God’s healing power in our lives through 8 recovery principles found in the Beatitudes. By working and applying these principles, we begin to grow spiritually and become willing to accept God’s grace in solving our problems. Change takes place as we share our experiences, hopes and strengths with each other. We gain freedom from our addictive, compulsive and dysfunctional behaviors. This freedom creates peace, joy, serenity and most importantly, a stronger personal relationship with God and others.

Free from the hurts of yesterday, the struggles of today, and the worries of tomorrow.

celebraterecoveryheader_new-960x250

Lesson 1 Denial

Denial

Think About It

Before we can take the first step of our recovery, we must first face and admit our denial.

God tells us, “You can’t heal a wound by saying it’s not there!” (Jeremiah 6:14). The acrostic for DENIAL spells out what can happen if we do not face our denial.

Disables our feelings

By repressing our feelings we freeze our emotions. Understanding and feeling our feelings is freedom.

“They promise them freedom, while they themselves are slaves of destructive habits—for a man is a slave of anything that has conquered him.” (2 Peter 2:19, GNB)

Energy lost

A side effect of our denial is anxiety. Anxiety causes us to waste precious energy running from our past and worrying about and dreading the future. It is only in the present, today, where positive change can occur.

“He frees the prisoners . . .; he lifts the burdens from those bent down beneath their loads.” (Psalm 146:7–8, TLB)

Negates growth

We are “as sick as our secrets.” We cannot grow in recovery until we are ready to step out of our denial into the truth.

“They cried to the Lord in their troubles, and he rescued them! He led them from their darkness and shadow of death and snapped their chains.” (Psalm 107:13–14, TLB)

Isolates us from God

God’s light shines on the truth. Our denial keeps us in the dark.

“God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. If we claim to have fellowship with him yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live by the truth. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.” (1 John 1:5–7)

Alienates us from our relationships

Denial tells us we are getting away with it. We think no one knows—but they do. What is the answer?

“Stop lying to each other; tell the truth, for we are parts of each other and when we lie to each other we are hurting ourselves.”(Ephesians 4:25, TLB)

Lengthens the pain

We have the false belief that denial protects us from our pain. In reality, denial allows our pain to fester and grow and turn into shame and guilt.

God’s promise: “I will give you back your health again and heal your wounds.” (Jeremiah 30:17, TLB)

Accept the first principle of recovery. Step out of your denial! Step into your Higher Power’s—Jesus Christ’s—unconditional love and grace!

Principle 1: Realize I’m not God. I admit that I am powerless to control my tendency to do the wrong thing and that my life is unmanageable.

“Happy are those who know they are spiritually poor.” (Matthew 5:3)

Step 1: We admitted we were powerless over our addictions and compulsive behaviors, that our lives had become unmanageable.

“I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.” (Romans 7:18)

Serenity Prayer

God, grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change,
the courage to change the things I can,
and the wisdom to know the difference.
Living one day at a time,
enjoying one moment at a time;
accepting hardship as a pathway to peace;
taking, as Jesus did, this sinful world as it is;
not as I would have it;
trusting that You will make all things right
if I surrender to Your will;
so that I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with You
forever in the next.

Amen

BREAK EVERY CHAIN, BREAK EVERY CHAIN

Image result for celebrate recovery

God bless!

3l8vgf8e2pga9jxok0br

Leave a Reply

