Celebrate Recovery

CELEBRATE RECOVERY: LESSON 4 SANITY

Image result for celebrate recovery

Lesson 4 Sanity

Sanity

Think About It

Insanity has been described as “doing the same thing over and over again, expecting a different result each time.”

Sanity has been defined as “wholeness of mind; making decisions based on the truth.”

The following are some of the gifts we will receive when we believe that our Higher Power, Jesus Christ, has the power and will restore us to SANITY!

Strength

Jesus gives us strength to face the fears that in the past have caused us to fight, flee, or freeze.

“God is our refuge and our strength, and ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear.” (Psalm 46:1)

“My mind and my body may grow weak, but God is my strength; he is all I ever need.” (Psalm 73:26, GNB)

Acceptance

We learn to have realistic expectations of ourselves and others.

“Accept one another; then, for the glory of God, as Christ has accepted you.” (Romans 15:7, GNB)

New life

We discover that we have an opportunity for a second chance! We do not have to live by our old ways any longer.

“When someone becomes a Christian he becomes a brand new person inside. He is not the same anymore. A new life has begun!”  (2 Corinthians 5:17, 5LB)

Integrity

We begin to follow through on our promises. Others start trusting what we say.

“Nothing brings me greater joy than hearing that my children are living in the truth.”  (3 John 4, PH)

Trust

We begin to trust relationships with others and our Higher Power, Jesus Christ!

“It is dangerous to be concerned with what others think of you, but if you trust the LORD, you are safe.” (Proverbs 29:25, GNB)

Your Higher Power, Jesus Christ, loves you just the way you are!

No matter what you have done in the past, God wants to forgive it!

“While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8)

No matter what shape your life is in today, together God and you can handle it!

“And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out.”  (1 Corinthians 10:13)

And if you take action to complete the next principle, your future will be blessed and secure!

“So don’t be anxious about tomorrow. God will take care of your tomorrow too. Live one day at a time.” (Matthew 6:34, TLB)

Principle 2: Earnestly believe that God exists, that I matter to Him, and that He has the power to help me recover.

“Happy are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.” (Matthew 5:4)

Step 2: We came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.

“For it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose.” (Philippians 2:13)

Principle 2 Prayer

Dear God,

I have tried to “fix” and “control” my life’s hurts, hang-ups, or habits all by myself. I admit that, by myself, I am powerless to change. I need to begin to believe and receive your power to help me recover. You loved me enough to send Your Son to the cross to die for my sins. Help me be open to the hope that I can only find in Him. Please help me to start living my life on day at a time. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen

BREAK EVERY CHAIN, BREAK EVERY CHAIN

Image result for celebrate recovery

God bless!

3l8vgf8e2pga9jxok0br

Leave a Reply

